Rendang Padang


I Love Rendang!

image

I might be born and live in Batam Island forever, but my parents originally came from Padang, West Sumatra. So, I am a Minang girl, or a Padangnese or a West Sumatran, whatever they call it. Its in my blood that I am always craving for spicy food. So, thats why today I am gunna make Rendang!!!

A little bit about Rendang:

Rendang is a spicy meat dish which originated from the Minangkabau ethnic group of Indonesia, which also popular in South East Asia. Culinary experts often describe rendang as: ‘West Sumatra caramelized beef curry’.

Rendang is rich in spices. Traditional Padang rendang takes hours to cook (usually four hours). Cooking rendang is time consuming and requires patience. The meat pieces are slowly cooked in coconut milk and spices at precisely the right temperature until almost all the liquid is gone, allowing the meat to absorb the condiments. The cooking process changes from boiling to frying as the liquid evaporates. The slow cooking process allows the meat to absorb all the spices. During the process, the meat should be slowly and carefully stirred in the spicy coconut milk mixture and turned over without burning or ruining the meat — well until all the liquids have evaporated. Because of its generous use of numerous spices, rendang is known for having a complex and unique taste.

If you want to know more about Rendang, please click here!

I myself, love the dry rendang, which is what I am going to make today. Buuuuuttttt….I am NOT in the mood to eat beef right now, so I substitute them beef with Vegetarian Mutton, which basically made of mushrooms, looks like beef chunk, but its mushrooms. It wont taste as good as beef rendang, but thats okay with me, because I am craving for the spice ala rendang, not the beef.

Annnndddd, since its vegetarian, I do not have to feel guilty if I eat a lot of it. I am making myself a week stock of Rendang, but usually I finished them in 3 days. Oh yes! This is not the first time I am making Vegetarian Rendang.

Lets get the party started!

Ingredients:

1 kg vegetarian mutton
500 gr mini potatoes
1 cinnamon stick
5 cloves
2 star anise
1 lemongrass (cut into 2, 4-inch length each and pounded)
1 kg fresh grated coconut, put aside 7 tbs for toasting, turn the rest into 1300ml coconut milk
6 kaffir lime leaves, finely sliced
5 bay leaves
1 turmeric leaves
Salt to taste

Spice Paste:

8 shallots
3 cm galangal
2 lemongrass (white part only)
7 cloves garlic
2 cm ginger
20 chilies
10 green chilies
2 tbs coriander seeds
1 nutmeg
2 candlenut
4 cardamom pods

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Cooking Method:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

One thought on “Rendang Padang

Leave a Reply

